
There is a strange moment in the climax of John Deere’s classic Sunday night.
Perhaps after Emiliano Grillo, the first playoff hole, it caught your ears on CBS TV, driving his ball into the rough on the right. After Grillo arrived at the ball, CBS broadcast an image of Grillo sticking his T-shirt on the ground next to the ball and picking up the ball.
“Now, Colt, what’s wrong with Grillo’s ball?” CBS announcer Andrew Catalon asked reporter Colt Knost.
Norther said: “The Marshal decided to pick it up, so [Grillo] Had to go back and place it in the closest place. ”
If your reaction is the reaction of many observers on social media, then you’re thinking, say what? ! Why did the trained Marshal PGA Tour catch the ball at such a critical moment?
Well, it turns out that there is no marshal. This is something that actually drops.
Brian Campbell at John Deere with Amanda Barryonis of CBS
If you missed the exciting end of Deere, Grillo and Brian Campbell died suddenly after ending the 18th-year-old regulations. The first playoff hole was 4-18-18, and Campbell hit the first and drove in along the right center of the fairway. Grillo then, the tee was about 20 yards longer than Campbell, but to the right of the fairway, it entered a group of fans.
Campbell didn’t waste much time when the player arrived. From 193 yards, he hits iron 16 feet from the hole. Grillo’s second shot is short, but not that simple. There are trees to the right of his tree and are also dealing with a strange ruling. Sometime after Grillo’s ball fell into roughness, the man from Knost (seemed to be the marshal) picked up the ball and moved it.
Tour fans occasionally play football and then drop it after realizing the mistake of their way, but at so many moments it seems incredible that the marshal does so.
Therefore, it makes sense to learn that this is not a marshal.
On Monday morning, a PGA Tour media official told Golf.com that the Marshal was not wrong – in fact, a young fan scalded the ball before putting it back.
Grillo then did a little stupid himself.
According to Rule 9.6, a ball that is moved by external influence must be replaced without fines in the moving position. Instead of dropping the ball, Grillo put it down. No harm, no foul. “He corrected this and placed it in the estimated position,” the official said.
Grillo’s ball officially re-worked, and he looked like a clean lie. But from 169 yards, he couldn’t match Campbell’s shot, but instead flew his close range over the green and left himself with a tricky chip from just over 60 feet. When Grillo failed to get up from there, Campbell had a second Tour title with two putts.
Source link